Dementia Friendly Elgin

Dementia Friendly Elgin

Are you a caregiver? Do you need help?

What does it mean to be Dementia Friendly?

Elgin’s Dementia Friendly Movement

Communities from coast to coast are joining the Dementia Friendly America movement. Dementia Friendly America strives to create communities where all people can live, age and thrive.

Dementia Friendly Elgin Friends

We formed this committee for YOU. We have provided resources for you and your family members. We are not a medical association. We encourage you or your loved one to visit a medical professional, and obtain a thorough examination and diagnosis.

Our Mission

As a dementia friendly community, we are dedicated to strengthening and supporting those with cognitive changes and their care partners by raising awareness, reducing societal stigma, providing education, and communicating best practices.

Our Vision

We strive to improve the lives, welfare, and dignity for those with cognitive changes, while maintaining the greatest level of compassion, expertise, and integrity.

Dementia Friendly Elgin Logo
person holding hand of an elderly senior

Become a Dementia Friend

www.dementiafriendsusa.org

Family Resources

Programs for Caregivers

Programs for those living with Dementia

Programs for Spanish Speakers

Business Trainings Events and Photos

Other Information and Resources


Local Partners



Elgin's Story

On July 5, 2019, Elgin became the 5th city in Illinois to earn the Dementia Friendly designation from Dementia Friendly America. We held ribbon cuttings celebrating the Elgin Memory Café and Café de los Recuerdos. We provided 355 library programs in 365 days serving senior living communities, developmental communities and individuals living at home with care partners. We also created a Resource Guide for YOU that reaches our community through first responders, healthcare providers, the Gail Borden Public Library and Elgin Senior Services Associates, Inc.

We are here for you, even during the pandemic. 

June 2019 Alzheimers Awareness Month Proclamation

  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7

Dementia Friendly Elgin Advisory Council

Glenna Godinsky, Gail Borden Library - ggodinsky@gailborden.info - 847-289-5848

Angela Bouque, Gail borden Library - abouque@gailborden.info - 847-931-2093

Cherie Aschenbrenner, City of Elgin - aschenbrenner_c@cityofelgin.org - 847-289-2626

Lt. Matt Kenneally, Elgin Fire Dept. - Kenneally_m@cityofelgin.org

Mary Beth Riedner, Elgin Resident - mbried@comcast.net

Jerry Cowsert, Elgin Resident - jerrycowsert@hotmail.com

Valerie Reh, Hampshire Resident - pvreh@comcast.net

Dr. Susan Wesner, Elgin Resident - susanbwesner@gmail.com

Vicki Montgomery, South Elgin Resident - vmontgomery36@gmail.com

Adele Larsen - Director of Marketing, Senior Services Assoc. - alarsen@seniorservicesassoc.org

Sandy Kaptain, Elgin Resident - sakaptain@gmail.com

Rocio Robledo - Recruiter for Healthcare Plus - rocio.robledo@hcpcaregivers.com

Olivia Christy - Director of Sales & Marketing  at The Sheridan by Tyler Creek - ochristy@seniorlifestyle.com

Det. Krysta Kaus - Kane County Sheriff's Office - kauskrysta@co.kane.il.us

George Wolff - Physical Therapist -Elgn Resident -  geowolff@wowway.com

Debbie Miller, LCSW, Senior Service Associates - dmiller@seniorservicesassoc.org


Follow us on Facebook!