Earth Summit Graphic

Join the Sustainability Commission, along with over 20 local environmental organizations, at the Elgin Earth Summit on Saturday, April 29th from 9 a.m. - 1 p.m. at Elgin Community College's Building E! The event will feature 15-minute speaking sessions, "Green 15" talks, led by local sustainability experts covering a wide range of sustainability topics, from greenhouse gas emissions, to electric vehicle readiness, to Elgin's trees and more! The event will feature an hour-long community input session led by Kane County to inform their upcoming Climate Action and Implementation Plan. Visit with over 20 local organizations that will have tables set up all day long and be available for conversations and to share resources.

After the event, head over to the Grumpy Goat Tavern for a networking hour from 1:15 p.m. - 2:15 p.m. Food and drink will be available for purchase.

The event is free to attend. Please register ahead of time at

We'll see you there!

Event handout



Commissioners & Staff

Sustainability initiatives in Elgin are furthered by the Elgin Sustainability Commission, an advisory commission made up of nine community volunteers and one student representative. The commission works on a wide variety of initiatives, aligning with the Elgin Sustainability Action Plan. The commission meets on the second Tuesday of every month at 6 p.m., in the West Conference Room at the Edward Schock Centre of Elgin.

Apply to be a Sustainability Commissioner at

View meeting agendas and minutes here.

Chairperson Tom Armstrong
Commissioner Jeff Biss
Commissioner Dan Brosier
Commissioner Chris Flaherty
Commissioner Sharene Gould-Dulabaum
Commissioner Katie Gronke
Commissioner David Jurina
Commissioner Dekovia Livingston
Commissioner Vacancy
Student Representative Isabella Cheung
Council Liaison Carol Rauschenberger
Staff Liaison Vacancy

The City of Elgin staffs a full-time Sustainability Analyst to work on sustainability initiatives in the city and serve as staff liaison to the Sustainability Commission.

Work Groups

The Sustainability Commission has three working groups: Carbon Reduction, Sustainable Communications, and Urban Resiliency. The work groups meet outside of the monthly regular commission meetings, and work further on sustainability initiatives pertaining to their focus area. Community members are welcome and encouraged to participate on a work group by coming to the meeting or reaching out to

View agendas and meeting minutes here.

Work Groups 2023 Opens in new window

Receive Sustainability Commission Updates

  1. Elgin Sustainabiltiy logo
  2. Sign up to receive Sustainability Commission updates.

    Please complete the fields below to receive future communications from the Sustainability Commission.

  3. Work Groups

    The Sustainability Commission has three working groups:

    1. Carbon Reduction

    2. Sustainable Communications

    3. Urban Resiliency

    If you have a specific interest in a work group(s), please enter it below.

  4. Thank You

    Thank you for your interest in the Sustainability Commission. Please click 'Submit' below.

  5. Leave This Blank:

  6. This field is not part of the form submission.